In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this increasingly competitive market, businesses always come up with innovative ways to advertise their products in order not to face any potential collapse. Among these, the most popular one is to indicate that their products are new in some aspects. This essay will analyze the reasons behind this practice and why it has more disadvantages than advantages.

On the one hand, the aforementioned trend has roots in the fact that advertising unique features can be an effective strategy. Throughout history, humankind has shared an innate trait - the desire to explore. Taking advantage of this, businesses typically inform customers about how their unique products are different from other ones, stimulating them to buy these items. For instance, normal stores usually use a ready-made pizza base, simply spread ketchup and sausage, and bake it in an electric oven. Some even prepare the pizza the night before, and when there is an order, they will heat up the pizza and serve customers. However, there is an exceptional chef who learned to make pizza in Italy and serves pizzas made completely manually. His pizzas rapidly became popular, making his restaurant one of the most popular ones in the capital of Vietnam.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned virtue of claiming the product has new features in advertisements, there is an ethical issue related to the adverse effects of this phenomenon on the faith of shoppers in advertising. Too many advertising schemes using the keywords “new” and “never existed before” will cause disinterest among people. I cannot count how many times I decided not to buy something immediately after hearing the producer introduces that this item has several unique features. Additionally, the manufacturers promise customers that their products are superior, whereas the improvement is so slight that hardly any customer can see the difference. Such situations can cause frustration and disappointment, making the customer mistrust the firm, which is one of the most essential elements determining the company’s long-term success. Once the enterprise’s prestige is destroyed, it is likely to go out of business after 3 or 4 months.

In conclusion, assuming the products are new with regard to some utilities is prevalent due to its efficiency in retaining consumers. However, I contend that the drawbacks are more substantial because of the severe influence on the customers’ trust. It is recommended that entrepreneurs invite professional marketing consultants to increase sales more effectively.