In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, businessmen are making use of mass media or some other ways to introduce their products. The items with innovative and high-quality are highlighted to draw customers’ attention. And questions of the purpose for this advertising and whether it has an advantage or disadvantage impact on our lives has been attracting a great deal of public attention. Although many people believe that this is a productive development, I as an advocate lean on the idea that it is negative by giving some compelling reasons.

To begin with, the reason why marketing departments publicize their products as new is because they want to increase the amount of consumers. Recently, many companies produce the same product, so the company with better customer outreach plans will gain more profits. Therefore, the advertisements should be unique and meet the changing needs of customers. For example, a cosmetic company just creates one version of lipsticks compared with the others which always change their items and advertise with new shapes, new colors and of course, the latter sell more products than the former.

On the other hand, this trend has several drawbacks to consumers as well as companies. Many businesses that promote their products as innovative are manipulating the consumers because they actually do not change their products too much. These strategies are clearly deceptive, and purchasers are rarely persuaded. This gives rise to boredom when watching advertisements of customers and they no longer buy these products. Obviously, the company will gradually lose its reputation and the number of products sold will be reduced.

To sum up, creative marketing strategies are carried out in order to increase profit; however; companies should be honest when advertising their products.