There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music is a form of art that is enjoyed all around the world in various forms. With advent of International music, however, the existence of traditional form is being questioned. Although, the reasons as to why music is appreciated, vary, the primary factor that attracts people to this art form is related to its contribution in improving quality of life.

Music is now viewed as source of entertainment. The fact that people don't need to learn music or acquire skills to understand it, makes it so popular amongst the masses. Further, like most other art forms such as painting or literature, music is known to affect people on emotional level. It has an ability to elicit a change in mood as well as reduce anxiety levels. Research has shown that music can ease stress and even provide pain-relief in certain cases. It has also been proven to be of theareupetic help in case of health conditions such as dementia. Apart , from this music has been an integral part of social occasions worldwide since ancient times. Thus, music plays an important role in social, physiological and psychological aspects of people lives.

While, every part of the world and community has their own traditional and folk form of music, the International music of today's age is taking over the global audience. Traditional music is a product of the strong cultural heritage and traditions of every country. It binds the citizen of that country to its roots and culture. Therefore, maintaining its presence is of prime importance. However, International music also has an advantage, in that, it allows people all over the globe to find a common form of art to enjoy. This can help to improve the bonding between people from different cultures and societies.

To conclude, I partly agree, that traditional music should be given more preference over International music, as I believe, that both forms of music have an equally important part in adding to the quality of life.