There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music, either classical or modern, has always been part of our daily lives. Many people find music as a way to relax from a very stressful day, or just a simple way to ease the time spent in a traffic commute.

A country has various ways of preserving its different cultures and traditions. Music has been known as a method used to pass down stories and traditions from one generation to another. It is a common knowledge that ancient people who do not have a formal writing system, uses songs and hymns in order to hand the tradition to their younger generations, thus, establishing a way of preserving their culture. However, at present most people, especially the young ones, frowned upon these old folk songs because of the proliferation of modern Western music. Nowadays, one can only see or hear a traditional number being performed high up in the mountainous regions, with some of the traditional costumes being replaced by newer but ordinary garments. In a way, some of the Filipino identity have been lost because of these reasons.

Additionally, people in the urban areas badly need music as a way to motivate them from a hectic and busy day at work. Humans are scientifically hardwired to music since they were in their mothers' womb. Moreover, because of the heavy traffic in the metro a person can escape and find a comfort zone by just plugging in a pair of earphones and listen to music. Lastly, students and other academe's would use instrumental music so as to help them in concentrating more to the task at hand.

In conclusion, traditional music is very important to a country as it acts like a bridge from the modern world to past generations. Moreover, people can not go by without music due to the benefits it brings.