There are more workers who work from home and more students who study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to technological advances, in recent years the numbers of people working and studying from home has increasingly increased. Though this trend has some negative effects, I personally believe that this is a positive development.

On the one hand, there are several problems originating when individuals decide to work or study from their place. In terms of home working, there is a lack of direct interaction between employees and less supervision from managers, which may demotivate workers from their main tasks. Consequently, the labor productivity may go down and have a total negative influence on the whole company. Regarding the type of online learning, there is also a lack of face to face communication as well as competition amongst members in the class. This would lead to a dramatic decrease in the quality of training sessions.

However, I would argue that the above development is extremely positive. Firstly, individual has more opportunities to make money without having to spend a considerable amount of time on travelling to work. For instance, one person can carry out e-commerce at home by marketing and selling goods on the internet, which may enable them to gain huge profits. In addition, if employers allow their workers to work at home, they may not only create a flexible and creative workforce but remarkably reduce the company’s budget on the running cost such as electricity and infrastructure, etc. Turning to e-learning methods, students nowadays could save a great amount of time and money to pay for the training Institute and achieve the same educational purpose since these days universities have continuously enhanced their e-training qualification.

In conclusion, despite the fact that working or studying from home has both bright and dark sides, I believe that it is a positive tendency.