There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Heavy crimes committed are becoming prevalent nowadays, which necessitates the involvement of serious measures. Some people point out that capital punishment should be introduced to deter these crimes while others consider humane ways of punishment more appropriate. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue and provides balanced arguments.

On the one hand, proponents of the death penalty have legitimate arguments. First of all, rehabilitation of certain criminals who commit atrocities repeatedly is almost impossible and there is no guaranty that they will stop doing crimes. Examples of homicidal maniacs murdering people even after serving the imprisonment are numerous. For example, a man who had been convicted for murdering his wife in the 1970s killed a mother of two after being released in the USA. Another argument is deliberate manslaughter an unforgivable crime that may cost the lives of many innocent people. Examples can be seen in Christchurch, New Zealand, where more than fifty Muslim worshipers were brutally killed in the mosque or in Oslo, Norway, where almost ninety youngsters who were celebrating the graduation of the school were blatantly murdered. In these cases, the death penalty is believed to be an effective way of preventing dangerous crimes and saving people’s lives.

By contrast, the opponents of this view point out that capital punishment should be prohibited and alternative measures should be used instead due to several reasons. The death penalty could simply be taken advantage of in countries where authoritarian and dictatorial regimes are in charge. In other words, politicians in these regimes hold their opponents responsible for a particular crime and sentence them to death. Belorussia, the only country in Europe with the death penalty being legal, and Saudi Arabia, where critics of the regime are easily executed are salient examples. Therefore, death punishment is considered to be banned internationally to protect innocent people in those countries.

In conclusion, considering the aforementioned views, it is clear that both sides have strong arguments. However, the only thing that unites both advocates and opponents of capital punishment is saving innocent people’s lives.