There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In the words of one of the prominent American professors Ken Brain, it is becoming increasingly popular to assess students through exams rather than continual assessment. It is obvious that exams have merits like it is one way that alleviates stress but also is an unfair form of appraisal. Generally, it seems to me that continuous evaluation does not only provide more fair estimates but also improves the overall academic performance.

On the one hand, I understand that assessing through exams can help students to avoid the stress that they may undergo through continuous assessment. In other words, in the examination system, learners do not need to focus throughout the course, so it avoids stress. For example, according to a survey by the ministry of education, the number of dropouts in institutes with continual assessment is three times higher compared to universities with examination system. After the interviews with these students, it was explored that the main reason for dropping out is high study pressure. Therefore, I am convinced that examination assessment is less stressful than continuous evaluation system.

On the other hand, the exam estimation has its downsides, but I suppose the main disadvantage is that evaluation through a sole exam is unfair and this method cannot accurately demonstrate learners' complete knowledge. To put it another way, there are various factors that could adversely affect students on exam day. As a consequence, students who study well may get poor marks. For example, in 2018, 4 students of National University with outstanding academic performance received unsatisfactory grades in their final exams, as a headache prevented them from showing their abilities. Such incidents may prove that one exam cannot evaluate professional knowledge of students.

Clearly, I am convinced that continuous assessment is more effective and a fair form of assessment for the following reasons. Firstly, it is not only the single way to achieve students' stable progress but also improve academic performance as students will steadily study and increase their knowledge.

On the whole, obviously, examination system has both advantages and disadvantages. However, I am certain that continuous assessment leads to more impressive results.