There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, it is observed that examination system has become a more recognized tool for assessment of knowledge and skills. While, there are many advantages of taking an exam we should also consider the drawbacks of this system. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of examination system providing relevant examples wherever necessary.

One of the advantages of giving an exam is, that it is a one- time complete evaluation of any subject. The reason for this is, that it makes a student more focused and serious about performance. This system also assess’ the power of retention and application of vast knowledge in one attempt. For example, when exams are conducted at a fixed time intervals, examinees get an opportunity to prepare and understand the subjects well. In contrast, there is tremendous increase in mental and physical stress, thus leading to anxiety and depression. As a result, students may underperform in the exams.

On the other hand, if continual assessment techniques are used they keep the students in contact with subjects on regular basis. This is because, only a small portion of topics are assessed daily or weekly by teachers. It also involves a continuous interaction between teachers and students thus helping them to work on their weak aspects. This in turn leads to an ongoing process of gaining knowledge and applying it to life. For instance, with continuous assessment format teacher can judge a students level of concentration and dedication class. This may also help in improving students neuro-cognitive functions. However, term examination system gives a student an opportunity to show off their knowledge and excel in it. As a consequence, we see more motivated and carrier oriented students.

To sum up, while continual assessment system is still followed in many institutions, the examination system has newly gained more acceptance due to it’s advantages that have outweighed it’s disadvantages.