There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Assessment of knowledge gained by students, who are involved in a particular academic activity is essential yet complicated. `some people believe that evaluating the students by taking examinations at the end of course is much more beneficial than assessing them on their active participation and assignment given during course. In this essay, I would be discussing about advantages and disadvantage of both evaluation systems.

On the one hand, examinations at the end of an academic activity tend to be better evaluation method to assess the individual academic knowledge of students. This is because, examinations are conducted in front of an invigilator, hence there are less chances of cheating by copying answers among students. Besides that, since this form of evaluation is conducted by same set of questions within an assigned time period, for example 2 hours or 3 hours, it provides an equal evaluation standard, both in terms of level of difficulty and time for all the students enrolled in a particular course in a given period of time. However due to this standardization in terms of similar questions and time constrain, this type of evaluation method is criticized for its incomplete coverage of the course.

On the other hand, evaluating students by continuous assessment methods like assignments, group discussions and short presentations during the course, also have some characteristic advantages. This type of evaluation appears to be fairer for students, who are regularly active during the course. Also, it provides a more comprehensive coverage of learning objectives in a target academic program. Although, continuous assessments have more chances of plagiarism and cheating by poorly motivated students.

In conclusion, while continuous assessment methods provide more elaborate coverage of course objectives, examination at the end of course seems to be a superior method of evaluation of intellectual abilities of a student.