Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantage of charging people for admission to museum outweigh its advantage?

Museums are the windows to our cultural heritage and tradition, and by all means, these should be promoted. In recent times, a number of museums, demand for an entry fee, whereas a few of them are free to visit. In my opinion, there are certain advantages and disadvantages of admission charges to the museum, and in this essay, I would argue in favour of having a reasonable entry charge to visit a museum.

On the one hand, by charging entrance fee, there will be reduction in the visitors to the museum, which will reduce it’s popularity in due course of time. For instance, when visiting a tourist destination, people would like to spend money on other more engaging attractions, rather than going to a paid museum, but this will not be the case, if the entry to the museum in free. Furthermore, by adding admission tickets, there will be a fear of shifting overall focus of such establishments, from academic to commercial accomplishments, which in not the true purpose of such places.

On the other hand, by asking for entry fee, museums will attract only genuine people, interested in art and culture, rather than catering a mob that neither has a sense of appreciation nor discipline to visit such places. Besides that, it will enable the museums to sustain themselves, with no or minimal dependence on government funds. By doing so, any government fund allocated to these organizations, can be utilized in establishing new exhibits, rather than spending it on operations and maintenance purposes. This, in due course of time, will attract more visitors, and thus more profit. The Metropolitan museum of the New York city is a perfect example of this type of system. However, the entry tickets should not be too expensive as extraordinary pricing will deter public to visit the museum.

In conclusion, although asking for an admission fee, the museums have certain disadvantages, especially in terms of reduced footfall, however, if charged reasonably, it helps in improving the standards and facilities of these establishments.