Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantage of charging people for admission to museum outweigh its advantage?

Museums are the windows to our cultural heritage and tradition, and by all means, these should be promoted. Nowadays, a number of museums, demand an entry fee, whereas a few of them are free to visit. I believe, there are certain advantages and disadvantages of admission charges to the museum, and in this essay, I would argue in favor of having a reasonable entry charge to visit a museum.

On the one hand, by charging an entrance fee, there will be a reduction in the visitors to the museum, which will reduce its popularity in due course of time. For instance, when visiting a tourist destination, people would like to spend money on other more engaging attractions, rather than going to a paid museum, but this will not be the case if the entry to the museum is free. Furthermore, by adding admission tickets, there will be a fear of shifting the overall focus of such establishments, from academic to commercial accomplishments, which is not the true purpose of such places.

On the other hand, by asking for an entry fee, museums will attract only genuine people, interested in art and culture, rather than catering a mob that neither has a sense of appreciation nor discipline to visit such places. Apart from that, it will enable the museums to sustain themselves, with no or minimal dependence on government funds. It will allow any government fund allocated to these organizations, to be utilized in establishing new exhibits, rather than spending it on operations and maintenance purposes. This, in due course of time, will attract more visitors, and thus more profit. The Metropolitan Museum of the New York city is a perfect example of this type of system. However, the entry tickets should not be too expensive as extraordinary pricing will deter the public to visit the museum.

In conclusion, although asking for an admission fee, the museums have certain disadvantages, especially in terms of reduced footfall, however, if charged reasonably, it helps in improving the standards and facilities of these establishments.