There should be laws to control the amount and type of violence shown on

television programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

People should have control over what they watch on television programs. Legislations should be made to control the frequency of some types of violent television programs. Though some violent television shows are informative and educative, laws must be made to control the frequent airing of some particular ones.

Controlling the amount and types of television programs shown should be enforced by legislation of some sort. Showing such programs can trigger violence in the neighborhood because they appeal to the emotional sentiments of people. For example, a man whose tribe man had just been killed for no reason by a group of people, watching such a painful scenario on a television program for the first time might resort to violence and an attempt to revenge. In order to avoid any violence that some television programs can potentially trigger, necessary and appropriate laws must be made to control them.

Watching violent television programs can without any doubt be informative and educative. They give people some pieces of information that can in turn be beneficiary. Take for instance, an accident scene shown on a television program might not be for the viewers to know the numbers of casualties but to create awareness on how dangerous the bend that caused the accident is. That alone had helped many drivers to drive carefully on such roads. Showing violent television programs is indeed beneficiary, but the amount and the type shown should be legislated.

In conclusion, the amount of information people are exposed to watching violent television programs can not be under estimated. In my own opinion, necessary laws should be made to control the amount and the types in order to avoid any violent related tension in any neighborhood.