There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

In recent times, the level of noise in metropolitan regions is increasing at an alarming rate. While noise pollution in public sites is attributable to a wide range of causes, there are solutions available that we should adopt to mitigate the excessive degree of urban noise.

On the one hand, there is a myriad of factors that contribute to urban noise pollution, and the most significant one is the high population density. As a matter of fact, most cities are densely populated with millions of inhabitants and their daily activities create various noises with different volumes. To be more specific, travelling is the major sources of noise because city residents nowadays tend to rely more on motorized vehicles such as automobiles or motorbikes for their day-to-day life. Furthermore, these vehicles, when in operation, release massive amount of noise from exhaust pipes, horns or even operating engines. It is also worth mentioning that in rush hours, when roads are packed with cars and other modes of transport, excessive noise emitted from those vehicles is considered unsafe for the local citizens. To exemplify, some surveys have revealed that the traffic noise in peak hours in Hanoi city usually reaches approximately 150 decibels, which might have some detrimental effects on people’s hearing, especially the elder.

On the other hand, though there are various measures can be taken to lessen the level of noise pollution in metropolitan areas, I contend that because traffic is mainly blame for the dramatic rise of urban noise, the most effective solution is that the local authority should encourage city dwellers to break their habits of commuting by public vehicles and other alternatives. In particular, a bus of average size is capable of carrying up to 60 passengers, which is dozens of times as large as the capacity of private cars. Therefore, if a vast majority of population start to use city buses on a daily basis, the number of vehicles would considerably decrease, which leads to the drop of the level of traffic noise. Take the example of Da Nang, a great metropolis, this city used to be a noise pollution hotspot in Vietnam; nevertheless, in the last four years, the local authority was successful in its effort to persuade Da Nang citizens to leave their cars home and use city buses by simply making bus services free of charge. Consequently, only six months after the implementation of this policy, Danang witnessed a dramatic decline of the degree of traffic noise.

To sum up, cities in this era are too noisy for various reasons, yet the traffic is the main one. In order to keep the noise pollution to the minimum, the state should make city dwellers use public means of transport more frequently.