Some think increasing business and cultural contact between nations is positive. Other think it leads to the disappearance of the national identity. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

People hold differing views about how integrating international cultures and business influence on each nation. While some individual believe that this movement might lead to the gradual dissolution of national characteristics, I am favor of its benefits that a country can derive from cultural exchange.

On the first hand, there are some compelling reasons proving that the international trading and cultural exchange is accountable for the continual extinction of national’s own identity, chief of which is the overwhelming popularity of one culture over the other. As a matter of fact, several cultural aspects of the powerhouse, especially the USA, have influenced the way of living of young generations in most developing countries, who come into contact with American culture such as watching movies, listening to US music or eating fast food. Because of the prolonged exposure of people at highly impressionable age, they would lose interest in practicing their national cultures. To exemplify, the Vietnamese previous generations used to put on traditional clothes as an indispensable part of cultural background, specifically on big occasions like Lunar New Year. However, these social behaviors are hardly practiced nowadays since a majority of Vietnamese opt for Western-styled clothing items in every day use as well as business meetings as social etiquettes. Therefore, the predominance of suits and jeans is blamed for traditional clothes to die out.

On the other hand, I completely hold the view that the rise in the number of multicultural countries might eminently benefit the prosperity of those nations, one of the most noticeable is the high level of cultural diversity. An explanation is that if a community gains a deeper insight into the beauty of foreign cultures, they will adopt this practice into daily life, thus their culture may not run a risk of being eroded but it can be strengthened. A case in point is that by watching American reality shows, Vietnamese entrepreneur can learn the social etiquettes of American counterparts as well as the USA business. Consequently, there would be apparent advantages for Vietnamese businessmen over their rivals as they start a partnership with American business partners in the future. This is synonymous with the fact that entrepreneur from Vietnam stand a chance of widening cultural horizon as well as driving their business to success.

In conclusion, there are two opposite schools of thought about how international integration in term of business and culture might impact on national’s own identity. From my own perspective, what a country may lose pales in comparison with the potential benefits it can gain.