A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problem be reduced?

It is increasingly common to hear that the members in rural communities are given fewer advantages from the improvement made to the set of life standard in a national scale in comparison to people living in urban settings. This imbalance in the distribution of financial resources has resulted in the wide range of socially concerning issues which can be mitigated by several solutions.

On the one hand, these burdensome difficulties are certain to arise as a result of the aforementioned social inequality, and the most obvious is the relocation of millions of individuals. In fact, metropolises and cities have drawn more investment from the authorities in the development of public infrastructures such as transport systems, medical facilities and other amenities, the mass rural to urban migration waves in search of higher living standard is clearly unavoidable. Consequently, this phenomenon might worsen not only the urban population problems but also the shortage of human labor in the rural towns and villages, which are the top of governmental agenda in recent times. Another aspect which has also been influenced detrimentally by this trend is the degradation from educational perspective in rural areas. As a matter of fact, a pivotal marker to assess the life qualities of every country is their education. Nevertheless, those states have not distributed sufficient efforts to enhance the educational facilities in rural regions, thereby a majority of students might not be academically qualified enough for their future careers in knowledge-based economy like today’s.

On the other hand, in order to alleviate the aforementioned problems, there are various solutions for the policy-makers to adopt. Firstly, to slow down the pace at which people relocate to urban areas, the additional allocation of financial packages should be provided for the construction of road systems and other modern amenities in the countryside. Therefore, the citizens of rural communities might no longer feel a need to leave their hometown behind for higher living standard. As a result, the burgeoning population problems, which are burdening governments as well as individuals, would be partially solved. Regarding to the measures against educational degradation, the policy of encouraging professional and experienced teaching staff to work at rural schools should be launched, and the encouragement can take the forms of beneficial packages or the provision of free accommodations for teachers. So that, if children had opportunities to receive lectures and training programs from qualified teaching staff, they would make steady progress towards their scholastic targets.

In conclusion, higher living standards benefit the city residents more than rural ones, and this development might cause a myriad of social issues named overpopulation in the cities and the lack of labor and low-quality education in the outskirt areas. However, these problems could be encountered with extra funds from the governments.