Some people think that zoos are cruel and all of the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the role and function of zoos is a highly controversial topic. While some individuals protest against the existence of the zoos because of the cruelty to the animals that has happened in that places, I wholeheartedly hold the view that zoos play an utmost significant role in preserving animals on the verge of extinction.

On one hand, there are some justifications behind the demand for shutting down the zoos, chief of which is that wild animals are kept in the artificial surroundings. As a matter of fact, a large proportion of species in zoos are caught from natural habitats where they are free to go hunting and mating the way they want; however, when they are held in captivity, those wild species are prone to lose their natural instincts. By way of illustration, a couple of tigers need an extremely spacious area to reproduce, yet the successful reproduction is rare when it comes to tigers being kept in a wildlife enclosure. Therefore, this may affect detrimentally to the mating behaviors between tigers. Hence, a huge number of animal lovers suggest the closure of zoos with the hope that they will be released to their natural habitats and live their lives freely.

On the other hand, despite the fact that zoos can influence deleteriously on animals’ initial wildness, I firmly believe that they still play an indispensable role in saving the rare species which are on the brink of extinction. One of the most compelling reasons for this opinion is that zoos provide safe environment that have no threats from the predators. Take the example of the wild elephants, which are usually hunted by illegal hunter to take tusks for ivory trade, so this species is facing a risk of being slayed. Nevertheless, zoo elephants are carefully safeguarded and supervised by the zookeepers and the CCTV cameras, and no hunters can cause any damage to them. In fact, there are some species which are only found in the zoos, they would be killed by the hunters soon after returning to their natural habitats.

To sum up, keeping animals in cages might put them at risk of being unable to reproduce, and this is considered cruel to some people. Nonetheless, I am against the idea of closing down the zoos because these places have done an excellent job of preventing endangered animals from being extinct.