These days, the debate about healthcare provision can be considered as one of the most tense in the developed world. A lot of people believe that comprehensive medical care should be free for everybody and it should not depend on people’s ability to pay. I partially agree with this point of view, but it is important to bear in my mind that it is almost impossible for a country with market economy guarantee a comprehensive medical care for its citizens

There are several reasons why free medical system is not possible. For me, the main one is that certain hospital services can be too costly for the country to completely cover them. For instance, the price of a lung cancer treatment will at least be $200,000 and even the most prosperous state cannot guarantee a complete payment without cutting down on medication.

Not only that makes me doubtful of the completely state-sponsored medical service. We are all well aware of the fact that every country taxes citizens to create its budget. This means that if the state aims to create a free healthcare system, it will have to substantially increase taxes, which in turn, may lead to more tax evasion.

Having said that, it is undeniable that people who cannot afford their treatment should have it fully sponsored by the state. If the government doesn't do that, this literally means that politicians are violating the right of every citizen to be treated equally.

To sum up, although there is no doubt that there are some advantages of having a free healthcare system, I believe that in today’s technological realm it is not possible.