These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city.

Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

Nowadays, rural citizen are interest to move to city to change their life better. Most people believe there are only negative effects of urbanisation and sees this trend rather as a problem, not an opportunity. I feel that urbanisation also have some positive effects. In this essay, I will discuss some effects of urbanisation, both negative and positive effects.

First of all, urbanisation causes overcrowding is a situation whereby a huge number of people live in a small space, because of overpopulation and increases day by day as more people and immigrants move into cities and towns in search of better life. With the increase in the number of people living in city, there is continued scarcity of houses. This is due to insufficient expansion space for housing and public utilities. Moreover, urbanisation affect to natural environment such as water scarcity and urban pollution. And then people’s health become poor and communicable diseases easily, for example diarrhea, ashma, cancer and many more. Meanwhile, the increasing relocation of people from rural or developing areas to urban areas is the leading cause of urban unemployment.

In positive effects, urbanisation provides efficiency. The cities are actually have efficient and easier facilities than rural areas. Also cities have more advanced communication and transportation networks. And of course, urbanisation means increasing economics. As urbanisation is closely related to industrialism, it is also related to growth of economy. As more enterprises and organizations are being established, more people can have jobs and also the added value increases.

in conclusion, I restate that urbanisation not always has a lot negative side effects, but people must focus more on the ways how to reduce these negative side effects from urbanisation. Some suggestions are: build sustainable cities that embrace improved environmental friendly; create more jobs especially in rural areas; and utilise natural resources in rural areas.