These days many children spend a lot of their time playing computer games but little time doing sports.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Playing computer games have replaced sports as an activity to spend free time among juvenile. This happens likely because of the growing number of computer ownership at household. Firstly, this essay will discuss the ground reason of increasing number on using a computer as a favorite leisure activity and secondly, this essay will elaborate the negative development that comes along with choosing to play computer games during spare time.

Over a decade, the escalation of household income and advanced technology sector has led people to buy an affordable and sophisticated computer. As a consequence, many children already understand how to use a computer since early age, including to play games which have immersive and captivating visual and story line that keep them hooked. A research conducted by Harvard psychologist revealed that young people who get used to playing games on computer will develop it as a continual habit, thus substituted sports respectively.

The continual activity to play computer games will soon bring detrimental effect; especially to young people. That is to say, too much time facing the computer monitor could hinder physical development because of a longer sedentary position. Afterward, it could compromise eye's health due to excessive artificial light exposure that come from computer. Cambridge scientist stated that the probability of children suffering from health problem is two-thirds higher than those who spend more time on the outside doing sports.

In conclusion, the idea to spend spare time playing computer games rather than doing sports happened because of the higher rate of computer availability in household nowadays and consequently brings drawback on juvenile's health and physical development.