These days many of us prefer to throw damaged thing away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change in attitude?

In today's modern world, people are being increasingly accessible to all sorts of product at an affordable price. Therefore, there is a group of people who discard used or damaged things while in the past, people fix their belongings and continue using them. In this essay, I will discuss about the reason behind this phenomenon as well as the impacts of it.

To begin with, individuals throwing damaged things away is due to several factors. Initially, goods are now more easy to be accessed to by consumers. The technology has largely contributed to this trend with the introduction of online shopping. For instance, consumers from all over the world can buy almost everything with just a mobile phone, specifically via applications namely Shopee or Tiki. Furthermore, the living standard of customers has improved. In other words, people now earn more money and as a result of this, they spend more money on shopping.

Due to the causes I have mentioned, several effects and problems have arisen. First and foremost, most people would no longer value their possessions. In the past, people tried their best to mend broken things because they may not have the right conditions to buy alternative items and they are also dear to their heart. These days, the tremendous improvement in living standard has changed the consumer psyche and it is making people think that they should not waste time mending things as they can just buy a new one to replace instead. In addition, this phenomenon is also the leading cause of the problem of resources shortage. Particularly, people easily throwing things away would result in more materials being depleted to the environment. It may not only negatively alter the environment but certain rare materials are also being wasted.

To conclude, there is a striking difference between how people treat damaged possessions these days and in the past. Several detrimental effects are witnessed. Hence, there should be a campaign to help raise everyone's awareness about the mentioned phenomenon of material wasting.