These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current scenario, there has been a shift of people from their birthplace to the place where they became adults. I believe that the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages due to the two reasons outlined below. However, I do concede that there might be some problems related to such a development.

To begin with, a person who is more exposed to different regions of the country or the world is also more comfortable with different religions, cultures, dialects and food habits. This gives him/her a more cosmopoliton viewpoint and fosters empathy and tolerance towards others. Such a person will be more "global" in terms of thinking which is the need of the hour in all spheres of life.

Moreover, by moving around from place to place, one can adopt the best practices in education, tech, policy making, finances and so forth from the other area. This know-how can be used in the betterment of one's native place.To illustrate, a person who is born in a remote village might migrate to a larger city upon completion of his/her education in search of better job prospects. Besides, increased income, that person can also bring back the knowledge of technology (such as cellular data) for the benefit of other villagers, who might not be aware of such things.

However, if more and more people settle in other areas, then population explosion at one specific place might be possible. In such a case, there will be increased competition for basic needs like fresh water due to the high concentration of people living in one area. Another issue would be 'brain drain'. This might happen when a specific person settles in some other region after spending much of their time and resources in another region.

In conclusion, movement of people from their place of birth and upbringing to the area where they attain adulthood is mostly a positive development with certain limitations.