These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers
go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a
negative development?
It is true that men are increasingly likely to take on the role of househusband, while
more women than ever are the breadwinners in their families. There could be several
reasons for this, and I consider it to be a very positive trend.
In recent years, parents have had to adapt to various changes in our societies. Equal
rights movements have made great progress, and it has become normal for women to
gain qualifications and pursue a career. It has also become socially acceptable for men
to stay at home and look after their children. At the same time, the rising cost of living
has meant that both marriage partners usually need to work and save money before
starting a family. Therefore, when couples have children, they may decide who works
and who stays at home depending on the personal preference of each partner, or
based on which partner earns the most money.
In my view, the changes described above should be seen as progress. We should be
happy to live in a society in which men and women have equal opportunities, and in
which women are not put under pressure to sacrifice their careers. Equally, it seems
only fair that men should be free to leave their jobs in order to assume childcare
responsibilities if this is what they wish to do. Couples should be left to make their
own decisions about which parental role each partner takes, according to their
particular circumstances and needs.
In conclusion, the changing roles of men and women in the family are a result of wider
changes in society, and I believe that these developments are desirable.