These days people pay more attention to artists (writers, painters and so on) and give less importance to science and technology.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There was a time we viewed the mathematic paintings of Leonardo Da Vinci and the literary thesis of Goethe as the contemporary norms. Never would I underestimate such extraordinaire, rather, I claim so with regard to those masterpieces’ fusion of artistic and scientific values. Yet, as the discrepancy between those two elements widens, a battle is ignited for the Holy Grail of public attention. In this age, my personal observation is that this precarious balance is leaning towards art.

Just as art and science once were intertwined, they both used to be the privilege of prestige, their publication exceeding the budget of anyone but the prosperous man. Since then, arts have evolved and, in fact, fuelled a complete cultural revolution, out of which the reign of populism is championed. Truly, our headlines, be it of the mainstream spreadsheets or lesser known tabloids, are littered with news concerning the pop culture, overshadowing any other news. As a testament, the finale of American Idols reported considerably more public votes than the presidential election that year, which is a tragic irony for journalism once on their moral high ground now succumbing to the profits from popular topics. Science, too in such onslaught, is obscured in the domination of this branch of arts, any of its advancements drowned amidst reviews of movies and the obsession over beloved figures.

In comparison with arts, the crumbling popularity of science can be attributed to its past zeitgeist of exclusion persisting till the present. Scientist papers, in such tune, obstruct readers with its gratuitous jargons at the compromise of inclusionary and coherent prose. Moreover, Schrodinger’s quantum physics mystifies the common public while the anthropologic excavation in Egypt seemingly bears no repercussions on our daily lives. Therefore, not only are the writings at fault, their contents are, to the laypersons, deeply unappealing, which is further perpetuated by specialists’ disinterest in welcoming outsiders in their fields. Consequently, scientific and technological circulations resonate not with and pique the interest not in the uninitiated but those aficionados already part of the circles of insiders. One may argue that from time to time, their successes do triumph over Hollywood personalities and steal from them the front pages, such as the moon landing or the launching of new iPhones. Yet such is interim at best and, after a while when enthusiasm dampens and science is once again an ethereal reclusive, we avert our attention back to the love affairs of rising stars. Profess our allegiance to science and technology as we may, we have a penchant for them only in Star Wars, Breaking Bad and The Martian, otherwise registered under the broad umbrella of sci-fi movies – a new glamourous derivative of arts.

In conclusion, I reckon humanities, in the perpetual race with science, have emerged victorious in our age. However, we should learn to recognize this harrowing reality for our reluctance to acquaint ourselves with scientific and technological advancements may spell our demise. Perhaps for once may mankind emulate the wisdom of the old masters and, if not totally fuse, reach a harmonious balance between these two fields.