It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of knowledge, tertiary education has always aroused a lot of controversies among concerned people. Some people hold the idea that it will be unfeasible and worthless if a country allows a large quantity of young people to enter universities, which I personally totally agree with for several reasons.

To begin with, provisions of higher education for a huge figure of youngsters would be beyond a country’s reach. In the first place, the cost of building and investing into college infrastructures and facilities as well as well-qualified teaching staff would be prohibitive. Therefore, given the fact that a country’s national budgets need to be allocated to different fields of social life, such an investment is unreasonable and practical whatsoever. Furthermore, the practice of this idea means that most universities have to lower their entry standard so that a majority of high school graduates can be eligible to win a place in these educational institutions. As a result, a high proportion of university students are not the most outstanding ones who deserve to be there but a mixture of different levels, which will probably degrade the quality of national higher education in general.

On the other hand, there is also no use in putting the idea of providing university places for manifold young people into practice. As a matter of fact, not only does the society need a well-qualified workforce with Bachelor or Master Degrees or academic expertise, but it also has a thirst for well-trained and professional workers with good hands-on skills and experience, which vocational training institutions are available to take the charge. Hence, it is pointless to have more universities or colleges constructed only to make rooms for a majority of students to be able to access to university education, not mention the possibility that they lack the ability to do such a thing.

In conclusion, although the prospect of a country which is full of university students seems to be ideal and appealing, I strongly believe that it is unnecessary and impossible to offer tertiary education to most of the youth.