These days people in some countries are living in a “throwaway” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are its causes and what impacts can it have?

In modern society, people tend to buy things frequently and throw away their old items regardless of whether or not they still work. This essay will outline some factors for this phenomenon and a range of dire consequences that it could have on individuals and the environment.

There are several reasons leading to the throwaway society. First of all, we are living in a consumerist society in which new products are released into the market on a daily basis. Therefore, this allows people to make regular purchases in order to keep up with the cutting-edge technology. For example, many of today's teenagers spend nearly 1,500$ buying iPhone X to show that they are wealth and fashionable even though their old phones are still in good condition and perfectly functional. Another cause is the mass production of non-durable goods which are often used once and thrown away. This manufacturing industry is expanding in many countries with criteria cheaper and more convenient than durable ones, hence, this leads to the fact that consumer durables are being replaced gradually by other less durable goods.

Individuals living in a throwaway society could suffer a great deal. They could easily get into serious debt if they have an unhealthy buying habit. Many teens are being burdened with thousands of dollar in credit card debt for their unnecessary purchases. In terms of the environment, this practice inflicts severe damage to the environment. With the massive number of using disposable products will cause landfills to become overloaded with huge piles of garbage, only a small the proportion of which is disposed of properly to avoid harm to the environment. The rest of the garbage, usually non-recyclable and plastic items, is either buried underground or burnt. This can increase air and land pollution levels, and directly harm the lives of residents living in the throwaway society.

In conclusion, a throwaway culture which wreaks devastation on our environment and makes many people falling in debt status are two the two major problems which result from this society.