Nuclear energy is a double-sided sword which can either have significant benefits for humanity; or result in mass destruction. This essay disagrees that nuclear energy’s pros exceed its cons and discusses the reasons.

Countries all around the world make it a priority to create nuclear missiles and warheads to both dominate other nations, and to protect their own. As a result, this can cause major conflicts between governments especially if the production of nuclear weapons is conducted by a country that is not constrained by laws and regulations. Moreover, a prominent example of the damage nuclear bombs leave is the nuclear bombing of the Japanese cities: Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

On the other hand, many scientists argue that using of nuclear power to generate electricity is important in many countries considering how we are running low on petroleum and gas. What makes this argument invalid is that there are many other ways to generate electricity like building solar panels and wind turbines; these ways do not have the significant downsides of nuclear reactors and radioactivity. Furthermore, the process of dumping nuclear waste in water sources has been known to spread fatal diseases and destroy the creatures that exist in the same dumping sites of the reactors. Another example is how small errors that happen inside the reactors can result in people getting sick or even dying; not to forget to mention the Chernobyl disaster in Ukraine where it is still dangerous to visit the area of the explosion even years after the incident happened.

To conclude, even though it is true that nuclear energy has many advantages, the dangers of such energy are greater and should be put into consideration by governments before putting its people and the rest of the world at a continuous risk.