Some countries are developing their nuclear weapons these days, and it becomes a serious threat to the world peace. But it is undeniable that nuclear technology is clean for the environment and offers low-cost energy source. Therefore a lot of people believe that nuclear technology has more positive sides than its negatives. I personally disagree with the statement and the following essay will discuss in details about it.

To begin with, even though nuclear power could be used as an alternative source of energy, but some parties could misuse the technology. Nuclear power plants can be used as propaganda by some countries, whereas they will tell the public that they only use the technology for power generation purposes. But, the public would never know what lies behind their plants, as they might be developing an advanced and sophisticated nuclear weapons.

And then, although nuclear power plants are safe to the environment and cheaper in cost, many people still believe that they are a serious threat to the surrounding areas. Some countries have tried to manage their nuclear power plants cautiously, but sometimes unexpected events happen and cause a serious effect on the surrounding areas. For example, it is undeniable that Japan is well known for its advanced, effective and modern nuclear technology. But in the year 2010, a tsunami had struck one of the country’s power plants, and as a consequence, it caused a leakage in the plants and many casualties were found.

I believe that that weapon of much destruction is always a threat to the world and it is hard to believe that a weapon can maintain world peace. The history tells us how the weapons have destroyed millions of lives and have caused severe damage to our environment.

In conclusion, although nuclear technology could be used as a clean and cheap source of energy, I strongly disagree with it. Even though strict monitoring is made sure for those nuclear plant and research centres, some countries might secretly use it as a weapon. And then, no matter how well the power plants are built, they could still be a threat for our civilisations, as we could never predict that any natural disaster could hit these power plants anytime.