In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Public transportation has become an essential necessity for people who want a cheaper and a more practical way of moving from a location to another. This essay discusses both arguments and agrees that the government should spend more on implementing faster trains that would make life easier.

In bigger countries, trains and metros are more reliable and faster when people want to travel from a city to another. This is especially true considering the fact that trains are faster, safer, and avoid traffic delays. In Malaysia for instance, train stations are even more needed than they were before because people find it difficult and pricier to take taxis especially when they are going to more distant provinces and areas. Trains made life easier for people especially students and employees and they are also cleaner for the environment considering how pollution is a critical problem today.

On the other hand, many people and government officials suggest that developing and implementing fixes on buses, taxi services, and other existing transportation means is more effective and less costly than building new metro stations and railways that most of the times need years to accomplish with no huge impact on the quality of life compared to buses and cabs that do not need as much effort to improve and have greater benefits for the public.

In conclusion, I feel inclined to agree that constructing new train stations and railways is more convenient than other transportation projects because the first provide safe and comfortable ways of moving between areas.