Today, children and teenagers are committing more crimes.

Why is this case?

How should they be punished ?

There is no denying that crimes are one of the most concerning topics in any country. In light of this, a rise in children and teenagers committing more crimes has become a topic of general interest among citizens. This is mostly due to the lack of legal knowledge and the ignorant of parents which can be handled by adjusting the age that people need to take responsibility and sending sinners to reform schools as punishments.

The reason why more minors commit crimes is that they have insufficient knowledge about the laws. Schools and education these days tend to only focus on teaching theory and ignore moral values in students. This might develop teenagers and adolescents a mindset that well-behave is unimportant. In addition, since minors receive less care and attention from their parents, they can also easily commit crimes. This is because adolescents can be enticed to join in wrong behaviours such as robbing and violence by toxic people.

One notable way to mitigate this problem would be imposing an earlier age that they need to take the responsibility for their actions. This forces minors to have cognition toward the extent of the problem, and I highly suggest 16 would be the most appropriate age as Vietnam has implemented this law. In terms of misdemeanour crimes, juveniles should be sent to reform schools to help them to realize their wrong behaviours as well as practice positive values. Although sinners can be too young to be sentenced, the punishments should be delayed instead of converting the responsibility to the sinners' guardians. This is because they might think there always be people who address problems and continue committing crimes.

In conclusion, lacking legal knowledge and parental care are reasons that more children and teenagers appear in court from a very young age. However, to prevent this issue from developing into a phenomenon, stringent laws should be introduced, and sinners need to be sent to reform schools for a better mindset between right and wrong.