Today, fewer elderly people live with their children than in the past. Do u think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that in the modern day, the old people have a tendency for choosing to live alone compared to in the past. In my opinion, I believe that this trend has both advantages and disadvantages for both generations.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why elderly people who do not live with their children have become far more normal in recent years. Firstly, concerning the older generation, they will not be affected by the young people’s lifestyles such as eating too much sweet food, getting up late and making noises. Therefore, they will have a better life without youngsters. Secondly, in terms of the younger generation, especially when they finish high school, they will be mature enough to live more independent than those who live with family members. They have to seek a job to earn a living and gain countless opportunities to develop their soft skills like how to cook, cleaning clothes and the way to protect themselves.

On the other hand, I suppose that there are some negative consequences which should be considered. From an individual perspective, young people will miss the golden chances to obtain a lot of real experience of their parents in regard to lifestyles, physical appearance and doing housework. For instance, my sister has a happy life with her parents -in -law, because she was learning many skills to manage conflicts or how to narrow the relationships between family members by her mothers. In addition, the oldsters will face some problems when they live alone, particularly health risks. As a person who has heart attack live without relatives, it is not safe for him/her when emergencies occur; thus; her/his offsprings will not only regret but also experience a hard time in the near future.

In conclusion, the increase in one-person households will bring both benefits and drawbacks for individuals.