Today food travels from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be better for the economy & environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In contemporary society, it takes a long time when victuals generally are produced from the farm’s store and transferred to far destinations to the consumer; while opponents argue that it creates economic and environmental benefits if residents choose to eat food produced from local farms. To the best of my knowledge, the later point of view is grounded for the following reasons. This essay will present an overview of causes and advantages of this phenomenon.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that the safety of foods having verified origin is widely perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, local food does not have toxic materials causing cancer and guarantees the safety of consumer’s health. Secondly, another factor that has added fuel to the fire is the convenience of food transportation among different countries. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that it can take several days to import international food transported by the airline. For example, this phenomenon is one of the contributive factors impacting on international trade because this does not come without a high price.

In evaluating its impact, it is important to take effects on economy and environment into account. From an economic perspective, it creates new business or jobs for local citizens about producing food, which does a great job in enhancing the standard of their living and affects positively macro-economic performance. A second major advantage is the fact that eating local food plays an instrument in protecting the environment. The export and import of food around the world is accompanied by the increase of global warming due to the carbon emissions produced during the process. According to researches, eating local victuals can reduce the distance that food travels and harmful emissions released from vehicles during transport.

In conclusion, the safe quality of food and transportation difficulties are the main reasons, which have positive chronic effects on economy and environment as mentioned above.