Today food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this day and age, food is transported a long distance before meeting its consumers. The reason behind this development is because of the ability for better preservation and efficient transportation of food. Personally, this trend is generally positive despite some minor effect on the environment

Food is often carried on a massive route before being seen on the market’s shelf because of refrigeration and transportation evolutions. Since its introduction, refrigeration has evolved to the point of reaching the optimum as it consumes less energy for more effective cooling, helping preserve food an extended period. Moreover, transportation is now very energy-efficient, being able to carry a lot of goods at a lower cost of fuel. When these two factors align, food can now be carried worldwide, creating the mentioned development

This development’s impacts are favorable for customers and manufacturers while posing some threats to the environment. For customers, food that can not be grown naturally n their nation is now can be consumed, boosting the spending per capita and giving them satis faction. Also, manufacturers can observe a huge spike in demand, allowing them to escalate the production and gaining more profit. However, transportation always increases the worldwide carbon footprint, aproblem that the world has yet to give a solution

To conclude, it is a fascinating world to see food traveling internationally to reach its customers. Although this development may carry the risk of escalating the world’s carbon footprint, it is still positive for multiple reasons. Specifically, people can consume things that would normally be impossible for them, while manufacturers can profit more