Today food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this era, food is transported through long routes before meeting its consumers. This development can take place thanks to the advancement in cooling technology applied in transportations and the increasing demands for food. Despite some trivial effects on the environment, this trend is generally positive

Food can be carried through mass distances is primitively contributed to the exponential demands of foodies and the evolution of technology for storing food. As the world is getting radically globalized, it is common to seek other cuisines besides one’s local specialty, therefore the need for food made from foreign countries escalates, entailing a greater amount of food traveling between nations. In addition, many modern machines and technology are specifically incorporated into modes of transportations to facilitate the process of cooling and freshening food. As a result, despite being transported through many countries, food can still keep its fresh when being seen on markets’ shelf

By and large, this activity brings a large scale of benefits to our society when food can not only be consumed in its region anymore, significantly decreasing the leftovers and escalate experiences of a variety of cuisines in the world. In fact, local food can be grown excessively and wastefully end up in rubbish bins without being eaten for a single time. However, with the capability of being exported to other nations, food would be utilized and consumed by a greater range of people, widening their choices and broadening their horizons about different dishes in the world. Although the development of delivering food in far distance results in the enormous amount of gas such as nitrogen and carbon dioxide released from transportations to the air, which is immensely devastating for the ecosystem, it is still dwarfed by the advantages mentioned above

To conclude, it is fascinating to see food traveling internationally before reaching its customers with the core fosters being people’s demand and technology. Although this development may carry the risk of increasing the carbon footprint, it is still positive for multiple reasons. The further the food is transported, the higher opportunities for people to enjoy distinctive cuisines in the world