Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not real needs of the society in which they are sold

To what extend do you agree?

It is widely held belief that the development of revenue of popular products shows influential advantages of advertisement. Although those goods are not indispensable. However, I partly agree that with this idea as individuals just spend their money for reasonable purposes.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that advertising is a great tool to enlarge businesses as it can attract consumers by showing only advantageous parts. For example, Facebook users hold sale pages and request advertising goods by paying money for Facebook. Then, Facebook identifies potential customers and publicize products on the mail wall of those people. However, businesses must invest a lot of money to it and it may challenge to start-up.

On the other hand, quality is the first priority that consumers consider to buy a product. In fact, online shopping is not just about popularity but also feedbacks of people who bought goods. Furthermore, people appreciate their hard work definitely not be silly to spend money on products which are not good as advertised.

In conclusion, besides the larger spreading of products by advertisement, the quality of goods all play an important role in long-term growth.