Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not their real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is tempting to believe that sales of commodities are only indicative of the effectiveness of advertising, rather than consumers' genuine needs. I disagree with this plausible argument.

Some note that consumers have an impulse to buy things that appeal to them but are of little use. Yet this applies only to some people and is only true to some extent. How people think and act is a far more complicated issue and requires close examination. In fact, most people are rational individuals, on which the discipline of economics is based. Some consumption behaviors seem to be swayed by the magic of advertising, but underlying the behaviors is complex decision making, and advertising only constitutes part of the incentive. After all, money is hard-earned for the majority of people, and they are budget-conscious when it comes to whether to purchase an item or not.

The definition of "real needs" may be just as intricate as consumer psychology. Consumption is a personal matter, and only individuals can distinguish between what they need and what they do not. A four-digit luxury handbag, for example, may not be widely and appropriately considered a real need, but for individual buyers, it undoubtedly is. It is useful both practically and psychologically. It satisfies an owner's emotional yearning for a high-end hand-crafted bag that is itself characteristic of craftsmanship and excellence. What is more likely, therefore, is that advertising simply helps shoppers validate their purchase decision.

In conclusion, I believe advertising does provide us with an insight into people's real needs, no matter how unlikely this seems.