Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that in our society, the sales of products are attributed to advertisements rather than to the demand from consumers. In my opinion, the total goods consumption can be viewed as the reflection of powerful advertising.

Firstly, every company needs a method with which they can promote their products, which in most cases, that method is advertising. Advertisements help to bridge the gap between producers and consumers. They simply inform buyers and potential buyers about the product and its outstanding features, thus increase the sales of said product. Secondly, not only can advertising give people more choice, it also helps them to make insightful comparisons of products. Thirdly, as advertising is a creative and developing industry, it creates many well-paid jobs. Without advertising, a lot of people would be unemployed, thus decreases the sales of popular consumer goods on the market.

Furthermore, it is evident that nowadays, advertisements are shown on various media platforms from TV, Internet to radio, newspapers. As a result of this, many people buy products based on their frequent appearance on the media instead of the buyers’ actual need. Also, some advertisements feature well-beloved celebrities as well as promote a glamorous lifestyle to persuade people to buy product. Because of that, consumers are led to believe that buying such product would make them as successful and happy as their idol. For example, in Chanel’s latest fragrance commercial, which starred the famous actress Keira Knightley as a boisterous guest in a fancy party in Paris, has attracted a lot of attention, thus boosted the sales of the product.

In conclusion, in my personal view, in today’s society, advertising has a big impact on the overall sales of common consumer goods.