Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Now a days, increased selling of famous items meant for consumption by the public is directly proportional to the strength of advertisements, keeping at stake the genuine requirement of the masses at large. This essay will portray both the sides of the coin but would ultimately concur to the fact that the actual wants of the society are not being considered.

To embark upon, the advent of advanced electronics and gadgets has attracted many people from all sections of the society. This demand has been tapped by multinationals resulting in increased campaigning using all forms of media. Catering to the demand, companies lay more emphasis on selling expensive items rather than creating a balance between whats required and what is in demand. Most of the public fall prey to the innovative ways of advertisement, thereby, buying things that they actually do not need. For example, India;s largest online retailer, Amazon, launches its marketing campaign during festival season and is very successful in selling tit bits to expensive mobile phones, TVs etc. Most of the online shoppers shop just because they do not want to miss participating in the biggest sale of the year, as claimed by the e-retailer. Revenue generated goes off the charts, as a result of which, the company becomes rich and people are honey trapped into impulsive purchasing.

The advertising genius is unfortunately more focused on tangible paraphernalia rather than intangible stuff like togetherness, happiness, oneness, safety and security, law and order, health etc.

However, the real wants of the people are in focus of the government. The local authorities have started to give priority to "intangible wants" of the people. Local municipalities, by the means of radio, hoardings, banner etc. are making people aware of what they actually need. For example, Aam Aadmi Party's one-third budget for the current fiscal is to make the citizens of Delhi aware about the health implications of water stagnation, improvement of women security, spending by the government on law and order and education etc.

In conclusion, only the municipalities and local governing bodies are playing a major role in sensitizing their people about important requirements but unfortunately they lack creativity and innovation. As a result of which, large firms and companies are able to dominate the innocent minds of the people, thereby, peaking their sales all round the year by using heart touching yet lucrative advertisements or out of the box sales and marketing strategies.