Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the power of advertising on people’s life is undeniable. It is said that what is most popular to buy is not real needs for people. Personally, I agree with this opinion because of following arguments:

Firstly, it is obvious that the purpose of advertising is to sell a special product more and more regardless to what is people’s needing or even regardless to quality of the product. To achieving this purpose, the advertising industry try to recognize people’s behavior and try to know what can make people more obliged. As we know people are always seeking more happiness and a better life so advertising try to use this fact as a hidden message in selling goods. For example, they use young and cute girls and handsome boys to advertise a toothpaste that they use it while they are happy and fulfilled. They want to show that if people use this toothpaste they would be cute and happy as young actors.

Secondly, advertising try to develop consumerism in society then they can sell more and more. They try to show new models of goods every day and make people more greed to buy the newest model. For example, in my country it is not pleasure for a family to use electronic device like television for more than few years because they think it would be out of fashion and it is necessary to buy a new one. So advertising encourage them to buy a new television by show the new models of television every day.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising develop consumerism and take people away from their essential needs. However, people must have too many option and enough information to buy goods.