Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative trend?

It is true that many youngsters waste hours and hours on playing computer games, neglecting sports and physical activities. I believe that there are some significant reasons for this trend, which is in my opinion a totally negative one.

I would argue that there are two principal reasons for the fact that a growing number of children are addicted to computer games. Firstly, the migration of people from rural to urban areas has resulted in an enormous increase in demand for housing so almost land fund has been used to build apartment blocks instead of playgrounds or stadiums. As the limitation of the space for outdoor activities, youngsters have to play indoor and computer games are ones of the most popular options for them. Secondly, parents are busier and busier, and to have more time to complete housework or relax after a tired working day, they send their offspring a smart phone or laptop to play themselves. Obviously, day by day, the kids are becoming game addicts.

Computer games have negative effects on both physical and mental health of teenagers. When youngsters keep their eyes glue to screens for several hours, whereas they need to take regular exercise, waves from computers and Wi-Fi devices may cause headaches. This sedentary lifestyle is also the main culprit of serious diseases likes heart attack, obesity… Furthermore, the social development of children who widely use internet and spend this time on computer games is low while their social anxiety level and aggression behavior are found to be high. As a result, It is very difficult for them to build a strong relationship with their fellows.

In conclusion, there are some reasons could be the explanation for the addiction of children on computer games and I consider that this brings about serious negative influence.