Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that economic growth is the sole measure for hunger and poverty while I believe that economic growth has a consequence of environment degradation so it must be stopped.

On the one hand, starving and poverty can be reduced as a result of economic development. The first reason is that poor people have more chances to get higher paying jobs. They will be able to not only meet their basic human needs but also support their families and encourage their offspring to pursue higher education. Secondly, governments will have more resource to allocate in social policies which support those citizen who is in need . The poor will have opportunities to borrow concessional loan from state budget to earn a living by starting their own businesses.

On the other hand, I strongly agree that economic growth can do great harm to the environment. Firstly, many enterprises have been depleting natural resources in attempt to expand their business operation and maximize profit. In the process of producing goods, the incineration of coal, oil and natural gases emits a substantial volume of greenhouse gases. In addition, more and more chemical wastes are disposed directly into water bodies, such as rivers causing death to many kinds of fish as well as other aquatic animals. Finally, timbers company cut down the without planting new trees leads to soil erosion and floods.

In conclusion, economic growth which is not sustainable must be prohibited. If it is not based on meeting human needs rather than generating profits, such growth will only create more poverty and hunger in the world by destroying natural resources.