Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that most countries believe that the key to tackle the problems of starve and poverty is having a prosperous economy, whereas some other people argue that it must be stopped due to its detrimental impacts on the environment. I this essay, I will discuss both views before giving my own opinion.

On the one hand, starve and poverty are two of the extreme crucial problems that people are facing today. This is no doubt that the fundamental way to solve these two problems is developing economy. Because not only the country but also impoverished people can benefit from economy growth. Country’s agricultural and industrial productivity will be greatly boosted during the development of economy. It means that the country can produce more food to cater its starving population or have sufficient money to import food from other countries. Additionally, economic development also brings more job opportunities for people which will increase people’s income, enabling them to purchase adequate necessities for their daily lives.

On the other hand, some people opine that the environmental deterioration stems from economic growth. They argue that the economic prosperity comes from the depletion of natural resources such as water, forest and land. The depletion then causes several environmental problems such as climate change, forest degradation and water pollution. Therefore, they believe that economic growth must be stopped for conserving our environment. However, I think the argument is too naive. It is inevitable to alter the environment as nations have duty to supply enough food and create wealth living conditions for its citizens. Furthermore, countries will have an increasing number of funds to preserve our environment because of the economic growth.

In conclusion, I contend that economic growth is the key to solve hunger and poverty and the argument of stopping developing the economy because of the environmental problems is too unthoughtful.