Increase in the production of consumer goods result in damage to the natural environment. Why is this case? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that the growth in producing consumer goods can have a consequence of environmental degradation. This problem can be distributed/attributable to a host of reasons/factors and should be tackled by numerous solutions.

There are many ways in which the expanding production of consumer goods can be harmful for/do great harm to the environment. Firstly, many enterprises have been depleting natural resource in an attempt to expand their business operation and maximize profit. In the process of producing goods, the incineration of coal, oil and natural gases emits a substantial volume of greenhouse gases. In addition, more and more chemical wastes are disposed directly into water bodies such as rivers, causing death to many kinds of fish as well as other aquatic animals. Finally, the packaging of consumer goods, which is mostly made of plastics, will not totally decompose under the landfill for thousands of years.

To alleviate such environmental problems, there are many actions that should be high on agenda. Regarding energy, it is pressing that governments invest heavily in the development of renewable energy in order to reduce the dependence on fossil fuels. Not only is the use of wind and solar energy economical but also helps to cut down on/curb carbon footprint, a factor that leads to ozone layer depletion. Besides that, companies which discharge toxic waste into water bodies must be held accountable for their actions and be fined strictly. In terms of reducing waste and pollution, more companies should be encouraged to mass-produce bio-degradable packaging at a more reasonable price.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for this problem and measures should be implemented to solve it.