People nowadays tend to take their family to another country when they work abroad. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Upon commencing a new work in a foreign country, people often face a dilemma of going there with their family or not. While there are some negative consequences but I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are bound to be numerous problems when someone take his family to another country when he works abroad. The first issue is that it takes his family members a long time to accommodate to a new surrounding. If they cannot adhere to the new cultural ideas and behaviors they might have to face the hostility from the locals and suffer from the sense of isolation from society. In addition, normally, when a man travel to another country for work, his wife rarely has a job immediately. Be a single-income household in a city where living costs are very high like New York, London, Tokyo… is not comfortable. It is extremely a terrible burden.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages when going to a new homeland with family. Firstly, children will have chance to learn a new language and enlarge their knowledge about culture. For instance, moving to England, the kids are able to hear, speak, read and write the English language constantly, giving them countless opportunities to master their English skills. Secondly, living together helps to maintain the family bond. Unlike those people who work far from home, they can meet, talk and have dinner together then parents can give heartfelt advises in the formative years of a child.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of traveling to work abroad with family can defeat the disadvantages.