People nowadays tend to take their family to another country when they work abroad. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a debate about people's tendency to move to another country along with their family and whether the benefits of that trend outweigh the drawbacks. In my perspective, I personally believe that there are a lot more to consider about its advantages than the drawbacks it has and I will explain my reasons to this conclusion in this essay.

Moving to a different country family tends to have a lot to offer for some people. One of the advantages people can benefit from taking their family with them to another nation is that people can get support from their family and they don't have to rely on themselves to live in a different country. To be more specific, when you move to another country, you will most likely have to live on your own and whenever you are in a tight spot, it will be less difficult to ask for support as your family is there for you. Additionally, the experience of getting to a new nation can be an exciting, fun and educational for both you and your family, especially those who are children. They will get to see a new land, unique cuisine and local people from another country.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, the drawbacks that come with them outnumber the benefits from people taking their family to a new country when they work abroad. One such drawback is the language barrier. When you want to work abroad, it is necessary for you to be adept at the local's language to be able to work effectively. However, it is most likely that your family members might not have learnt the language beforehand and that will make them over reliant on you just to communicate with locals. Therefore, it will make your work go less smoothly. Another problem of the trend is that your family might not be able to adapt to the new environment right away. Since moving to a new place means that you have to accept the local's customs and culture, cuisine and people's personalities, it will be problematic if someone in your family can not adapt to the new country well. For instance, if your parents can not eat spicy food due to their stomach issues, they will not be able to handle Thailand cuisine well as most of its food contain moderate to heavy spices. One last problem that can arise from having your family move along with to a new nation is that they don't know anyone familiar and they have to make new friends again. Normally it will not take much time to do so but if the language barrier is still an issue, your family will have a more difficult time making acquaintances to the local people and become more reliant on you to do so as a result.

In conclusion, although moving to a new country with your family has its merits, the disadvantages of it far outweigh the advantages.