Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and less time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Today’s children are different from the children of previous generations. They are more interested in playing video games or sitting hours on the play stations than in playing outdoor games. This essay intends to analyze the reasons of this phenomenon and it would not be wrong to say that this is a negative development.

To begin with, the main reason why children spend more time on electronic games is that today’s children are technology oriented. No matter how young the child is, he knows everything about the features of computer and mobile phones. To add to it, parents also prefer their children playing indoor games under the air-conditioner, instead of going out and getting dirty.

No doubt, there are definite advantages of playing video games in moderation. But, the problem is that these games are addicting, and when children play these games for hours at a stretch at the cost of outdoor activities, the negative effects overshadow the positive ones. The major disadvantage is that these games are isolating, as these are usually played alone. In contrast, outdoor games teach children to socialize and make friends.

Moreover, another disadvantage of playing less outdoor games is that the children of today are suffering from obesity, which in turn leads to many other problems. Children today, lack in the strength and stamina, which develops by outdoor play. Furthermore researchers have found a new disorder, known as ‘Nature Deficit Disorder’, which is seen in children who play indoors. They found out that children, who were in contact with nature, were less stressed out with life. So basically when kids don’t play outside in the natural world, they miss the great benefits that nature provides.

To sum up, there are many reasons why children of the modern world play more video games, and it is indubitably a negative development so must be controlled over before it becomes a monstrous situation.