Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Due to globalization, trade is flourishing and many consumers goods are being traded across the globe. It has been noticed that, from various corner of the world, even food is being exported to numerous nations. Like a coin with two sides, even this development has its own merits and demerits. As far as i am concerned, all though this change could have some disadvantages but the advantages what it has to offer is far more outweighing.

To being with, exchange of food materials provides with the privilege of tasting different types of exotic delicacies and fruits to all people of the world. Some special eatables are only produced in specific regions and importing that food gives all other nations an opportunity to relish and consume the same. For example, kiwi fruit cannot be produced in India, but all Indians can still enjoy the fruit, thanks to trade. Moreover, this trend gives the poor, developing countries an opportunity to earn foreign exchange by selling their rare products to the world. This eventually helps those countries economically.

On contrary, this exchange could be health hazardous. As those food materials has to be transported over a long distances, they are preserved with the help of preservatives to increase their shelf life. These preservatives are sometimes carcinogenic and could cause dreadful diseases like cancer. Thus, it is a potential threat to the health of the people. Furthermore, the buyer country could lose its precious currency to the foreign nation, weaken itself financially.

To conclude with, all though it is not a healthy option to eat the imported food, but availability of the food throughout the year to the buyer nation and economic stability to the seller nation is some of the vital benefits that cannot be ignored. However, drawbacks of this trend could be slowly solved with the help of proper measures.