In the modern era, when the world has become a global village, tourists have also started new trends of visiting harsh areas like the Sahara desert or the North and South Poles. Touring such places has advantages as well as disadvantages elaborated in the following paragraphs.

Extreme weather locations are quite fascinating when watched on television channels like National Geographic and Discovery but there is another level of adventure when a person actually visits them. Exploration of such places lets a person see his strengths and weaknesses, as it is a common saying "what doesn't kill you makes you stronger". There are many books and documentaries containing survival techniques in difficult conditions but one actually learns them when experienced by having a trip. Consequently, when the tourists come back with plenty of pictures and videos to share on social media, their popularity boosts, turning their journey into a chance of profitable income.

There are a number of jeopardies and dangers involved, visiting a far off desert or an island covered with tonnes of ice. The adventurers would need a lot of planning and equipment that might cost them a fortune because tourist facilities are quite rare in these places. There is a greater chance of injury, accident and emergency. As these areas are less populated, so in case of any emergency, there is no help available. Many mountaineers have died of cold and storms while climbing the K-2 and Mount Everest. Places with uncommon environments might induce allergies and medical condition which may have not been diagnosed. There is no chance of careless behaviour as one can get severe burns in the desert or frostbite in snow.

The tourists who visit places like the Sahara Desert, K2, Mount Everest, Antarctica, Arctic etc do get a chance to enjoy nature at its extreme and get to learn about survival but there are life threatening dangers involved.