Today more people are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

It is widely acknowledged that recently, the number of people who are overweight has increased constantly. In this essay, I will explain some convincing reasons behind this trend and identify several practical problems.

There are many major factors leading to the increase in the number of overweight people, associated with the inadequacy of physical activities and the increasing consumption of unhealthy food. With regard to sedentary lifestyles, with technological development, people nowadays have a wide range of entertainment means, according to their preference, such as playing video games and surfing social platforms. As a result, they do not spend much time participating in physical activities, like going to the gym or cycling, so these individuals have few opportunities to burn their redundant fat and calories, putting them at risk of weight gain. In terms of inappropriate diets, individuals living in the fast-paced world tend to consume fast food because they do not have sufficient time to prepare healthy food. This is likely to increase the likelihood of weight gain as this kind of food contains a great amount of fat and calories.

A number of repercussions should be taken into consideration, affecting individuals and society at large. From an individual standpoint, being overweight can make people more vulnerable to more serious diseases, such as high blood pressure or heart attack, and these individuals are inclined to lose their confidence in communication or interaction due to inferior appearances. With these drawbacks, they have a poor standard of life, compared to ordinary ones. On societal levels, when the number of overweight people witnesses a significant rise, more strains are put on health care systems, exacerbating social challenges. Apart from this, the labor market will have incompetent workforces, reducing work productivity and hindering economic growth.

In conclusion, while there are numerous compelling arguments for the increasing rate of obesity, the negative implications should not be underestimated.