Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

Today, unlike in the past decade, there is a remarkable shift in population living or recently migrated to large cities across the globe. Not only it is noticeable within large cities of the developing world, it is also apparent within cities of the developed nations.

It is a startling concern that the very reason people migrate to large cities in the pursuit of a better quality of life, has in fact resulted in the opposite effect.

Congestion on the roads as a result of more and more people taking to driving their own car is one of the important issues facing all governments. As a result, traffic has increased causing congestion, more time being wasted on the roads, unpredictability of traffic thus arriving late at destinations, increased hazards and accidents to motorists and pedestrians and most importantly increased emissions resulting in increased carbon emissions thus climate change. Therefore, more efforts have been taken by the governments to improve public transportation, tax subsidies for more fuel efficient/hybrid cars and investing more money on building more roads, to name a few.

Secondly, the issue of lack of housing to meet with the growing population is becoming more intensified. For an example, in Canberra there are an estimated 5000 new arrivals into the city each year. As a result builders and developers have begun to capitalise on making more money. Rather than building quality homes, they have resorted to building multiple complexes of smaller, more compact, multi-storey, high-volume residential apartments, crammed into selected suburbs like Gunghalin. This has resulted in a very high occupancy rate resulting in poor living conditions such as lack of personal space, parking and lack of land space for a pet or even a garden. The government, even though aware of this problem, appears to have turned a blind eye perhaps as a result of increased profits of these land sales and revenue raising.

In conclusion, over crowding and its problems has taken centre stage in all state governments. The issues with effective solutions are being cleverly addressed by every government as an avenue to gain popularity votes in order to win elections.