In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

More and more young people are opting to take a year away from studies either travel and see the world or earn some extra cash by working in order to pay through their education. However, this trend is mostly seen amongst students of the developed countries such as Australia, America or the United Kingdom. Perhaps it is because of the open culture and having the freedom of choice.

On the other hand, in an Asian culture as seen in India, Sri Lanka or even China, this is not the case. Social pressure imposed by the culture they live in, forbid this sort of freedom. Furthermore, parents take it upon themselves to educate their children so that the children are free of any financial burdens but to concentrate on their studies.

The advantages are firstly providing the individual with an opportunity to interact with the world and get to know various cultures through travel. They may not always have the best travel conditions especially when it comes to the under developed countries, however, it is the gaining of experience and knowledge of how different cultures live. Secondly, by taking time off to work makes the young individual appreciate money and manage his/her finances better. Thirdly, the time spent either in travel or work, will make the individual self sufficient, responsible and become respectable adults. The experience gained will take them through university and onto their adult life.

One of the disadvantages with travel are the dangers from the Islamic radical attacking tourists in popular tourist destinations, rage killings or even being at the wrong place at the wrong time. Exposure puts them at immense risk. Another disadvantage would be to give up on university studies because they might end up loving the travel life or not wanting to pursue further studies as a result of getting a taste of money early in their life.